German Version

January 1st 1978 - North German Province

After World War I the German Province had so much increased that Father General Ledóchowski via decree from February 2nd 1921 divided it in the Upper- and Nether German Province. The provincialate of the Upper German Province was established in Munich. Father Augustin Bea was announced as first Provincial on September 18th 1921.

Ten years later, on February 2nd 1931, the East Province with seat in Berlin was separated from the Nether German Province. The first Provincial was since that date Father Bernhard Bley. The work of the East German Jesuits was to a large extent Diaspora work, but there were also the Catholic Ermland and large Catholic regions in Upper Silesia.
In the year 1959 a part of Rhodesia was assigned to the East Province as mission area.

The East Province opened also in the rather western part of Germany three residences in the Diaspora cities Darmstadt, Gießen and Marburg. Further houses followed later.

After 47 years the reunification of the Nether German Province with the East Province to the new North German Province with seat in Cologne took place on January 1st 1978. Provincial became Father Johannes Günter Gerhartz.

On July 31 2004 the North and South German Province were united to the German Province, with seat in Munich. Father Stefan Dartmann, who had worked hitherto in Stockholm, was appointed Provincial.


[back to Otto Syre's SJ-Calendar]

Link to 'Public Con-Spiracy for the Poor'