April 3rd 1982 - Saint Eugenia in Stockholm
The St Eugenia church from 1837 in the Norra Smedjegata in the city center of Stockholm was the first Catholic church in Sweden after the reformation. That church became a victim to the modernization of the town centre. It was pulled down 1968. The services were provisionally carried on from May 14th 1968 to February 14th 1982 in the Drottninggata.
After difficult negotiations, discussions, and much patience the city council gave finally with 51 against 49 votes its assent to the plan to offer to the parish a new center in an exceedingly beautiful place in the heart of the city on the Kungstraedgardgatan. At Palm Sunday, April 3rd 1982, Bishop Brandenburg consecrated the church in the presence of much Catholic and non-Catholic prominence.
The house from the year 1887 is under protection of monuments. So the new church had to be built on the yard at the back of the house. The demands to the architectural, esthetic, and structural shaping were high, accordingly also the financial expenditures. But the result exceeds all expectations. Father Peter Hornung in his charming and convincing kind has large merits.
Shortly after the consecration, on May 14th 1982, King Carl Gustav and Queen Silvia visited the church.
In the right part of the church is a chapel of Our Lady, which is appropriate also for the working-day services.
The parish numbers about 5 700 Catholics from more than fifty nations. Actual Swedes are about 25%.
Benefactors from twelve countries contributed to the financing. The German Catholics contributed to a considerable degree to the realization of the center by the Bonifatius and Ansgarius work, and by private donations. Now a great development began, which makes gratefully clear God's grace and wisdom.